India's World Cup 2019 Squad Announced; Check Out Who Made It And Who Didn't

A couple of surprising selections as India's 15-man squad was revealed.

Virat Kohli and his men in blue are all set and ready to battle and conquer the world again. The Indian squad for World Cup 2019 was announced at a press conference in Mumbai on 15th April 2019. A meeting between the five-man national selection committee led by MSK Prasad, Indian captain Virat Kohli and head coach Ravi Shastri at the BCCI Cricket Centre in Mumbai led to the selection of this team.

India has stuck to the ODI core squad who have been regularly representing the team in recent tournaments and bilateral series. But there were a couple of surprises in the new team. The big question was over No.4 spot in the batting order, but the selectors have answered that question by choosing Vijay Shankar.


Ambati Rayudu also was in the contention for that spot but lost the race to Vijay Shankar. Rayudu has been India's No. 4 since the Asia Cup held in Dubai last year but had a poor run since the Australian series with the highest score of 18. He has looked rusty in the ongoing IPL as well. Also against New Zealand in January, he only managed one 50+ score.

Vijay Shankar, on the other hand, provides a better balance to the team as he brings a medium pace bowling option which will be very useful in the 'English conditions'.

The Icing on the cake - The TOP 3:


Vice-captain, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Captain Virat Kohli were always going to be the top three, as they have been scoring the bulk of runs for the team. Since the 2015 world cup, the top 3 of India have scored 9000+ runs in just 59 matches and have contributed 62% of the total team score. KL Rahul is included as a back-up opener.

MSD Guiding the Middle order:

Source: pinterest

MS Dhoni with all his precious experience will be guiding the team from behind the stumps. Be it in the blue jersey or in the CSK's yellow, MSD has had a very good year so far with the bat. He, along with Kedar Jadhav and Hardik Pandya, would helm the middle order of the team and will play an important role in the success of this team.

The spin-twins with a deadly pace trio:


Since the past world cup, if there was something that made India a champion team, that'll surely be their bowling department. The pace trio of Bhuvi, Bumrah and Shami who make sure the team gets off with a good start by picking early wickets. They also stop the run flow and pick wickets at the death overs towards the end of the innings.

The spin twins, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal have been doing a great job in the middle overs. Kuldeep Yadav has picked 87 wickets in 44 ODIs at an average of 21.75 and Chahal has picked 71 wickets in 41 games at an average of 24.61. Their breakthrough series was when their bowling helped team India beat South Africa in their own backyard. The duo picked a total of 33 wickets in the 6-match series and led India to a dominating series victory of 5-1.

The team looks balanced and the players have been in great form. But with a series defeat at home against Australia and playing in the English conditions, team India will be looking to give their best on the field.

India will play their first match in the prestigious tournament against South Africa on 5th June at Southampton. It'll play against arch-rivals Pakistan on 16th June at Old Trafford.

Indian Squad:

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami.

Source: Instagram- Cricketworldcup.

Other Teams:

Other than team India, defending champions Australia and runners up from the 2015 world cup New Zealand have also announced their 15 men squads for the 2019 World Cup.

Australian Squad:

Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Alex Carey (wk), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Nathan Lyon, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff.

With a series win against India and a white-washing Pakistan, Australia will be riding high on confidence and will feel even better as the two pillars of the team, David Warner and Steve Smith, make their comeback.

Source: Instagram- Cricketworldcup.

New Zealand Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult.

New Zealand were the first ones to announce their squad for the upcoming World Cup. With very less competitive cricket played by them last year and a rusty series loss against India at home, this team would be hoping for better results in this tournament.

Source: Instagram- Cricketworldcup.

The prestigious most awaited tournament begins from 30th May 2019.

  • Express yourself